Shipping Administration Users

  • This is the Alt Tag for the image description.

Users are individuals in the company who have had a FedEx Ship Manager® account set up for them by a shipping administrator. Users can be given administrative privileges or can be authorized to only use the shipping functionality of FedEx Ship Manager.

All users must be assigned to a department, and therefore automatically inherit the department’s physical location, accounts, privileges, references and defaults. To customize defaults at the user level, click Customize privileges, references and defaults in the User Settings section on the User Profile screen.

Add a new user

Use one of the following options:

  • Invite a new user: click Invite new user on the Users main screen or click Invite user on the Users section on the Admin Home screen to send an invitation to a new user. Users who accept the invitation create their own user ID and password to log in to FedEx Ship Manager. They also create their own user profile and select their user references and user defaults. The shipping administrator sets the user privileges. The invitation is good for 30 days.
  • Create a new user: click Create user in the Users section on the Admin home screen or click Create new user on the Users main screen. The User Profile screen then comes up. Once you complete the User Profile screen, click Next to select the user privileges, user references and user defaults.

Note: The shipping administrator must assign the user to a department on the User Profile screen before proceeding. After assigning the user to a department, the User Profile, User Privileges, User References and User Defaults screens automatically populate with the settings of the department, but can be customized at the user level for greater flexibility and control.

User screens

  • Users: click the Users tab on the Shipping Administration screen or select a User option on the Admin Home screen to view, edit, delete, invite, create, import and export users.
  • User Profile: on the Users screen, select an existing user and click Edit. On the Admin Home screen, click Create new user or click Invite new user in the Users section. Enter or edit the user details, accounts and settings on the User Profile screen.
  • User Privileges: complete the User Profile screen and click Next. Then, select or edit the user rights and privileges for address books, FedEx services, special services and other general preferences on the User Privileges screen.
  • User References: complete the User Profile and User Privileges screens and click Next. Then select or edit the user’s company references, validations and defaults on the User References screen.
  • User Defaults: complete the User Profile, User Privileges and User References screens and click Next. Then, select or edit the user’s shipping defaults, pickup/drop-off defaults and customized options on the User Defaults screen.

Note: Once you have been through the user screens, you can click Next and Previous to navigate between them.

View users

Click the Users tab on the Shipping Administration screen to view all users in the company.

View Users by Department
Select the department from the Filter by Department drop-down menu to view users assigned to a department.

Search or select users to display

  • Search: enter your search criteria in the Search text box and select the field within which to search from the drop-down menu. Click Go.
  • View: click All or choose a letter or number from the View options.

Invite new user

Click invite new user to send an invitation to a new user. Users who accept the invitation create their own user ID and password to login to FedEx Ship Manager. They also create their own user profile and select their user references and user defaults. You, however, will pre-define their user privileges. The invitation is good for 30 days.

Re-invite user

Click Re-invite user from the Users tab to resend the e-mail invitation to an already invited user if the user has not yet responded to the invitation.

Sort users

Use one of the following options:

  • Select a column from the Sort by menu.
  • Click a column header to sort by that column in ascending or descending order.

 

Edit a user

  1. On the main Users screen, select the user and click Edit. On the Admin Home screen, enter the user alias in the Update user field and click Go. The User Profile screen then comes up.
  2. Click Next and Previous to edit information on the User Profile, User Privileges, User References and User Defaults screens.
  3. When you are finished making changes, click Save to save the changes or Cancel to discard them.

Delete a user

Select the user, and click Delete. Click OK to confirm the deletion and remove the user from the system. Please note that once a user is deleted, their personal address book is also deleted and cannot be retrieved.