Free Trade Agreement

Free Trade Agreement and Duty Preference Program Activity


U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) recently issued several notices regarding revisions and updates to multiple free trade agreements and trade preference programs, as follows:

African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA): Mauritania removed as beneficiary country. Effective date: 1/01/09

Andean Trade Preference and Drug Eradication Act (ATPDEA): extended for all countries through dates as follows:

  • Colombia and Peru: through 12/31/09
  • Ecuador: through 12/31/09 (subject to additional review prior to 6/30/09)
  • Bolivia: suspended as beneficiary country effective 12/15/08

Dominican Republic – Central America Free Trade Agreement (DR-CAFTA):

  • Costa Rica (CR) added effective 1/01/09
  • Importers may claim refunds of duty paid on certain entries of textile and apparel from CR retroactive to January 1, 2004.
  • CR is removed as a beneficiary country from the Caribbean Basic Economic Recovery Act (CBERA) and the Caribbean Basin Trade Partnership Act (CBTPA)

Generalized System of Preferences (GSP): extended through 12/31/09

  • Kosovo added as beneficiary country eff. 2/01/09
  • Azerbaijan added as beneficiary country eff. 2/01/09
  • Costa Rica terminated as beneficiary country (see DR-CAFTA above)

Details on all the above can be viewed at the CBP Cargo Systems Messaging Service as follows:

Interested parties may subscribe to messaging from CBP regarding a variety of topics.