December Edition

  • Canadian Customs Announce Major Changes To General Preferential Tariff Regime

Canadian Customs Announce Major Changes To General Preferential Tariff Regime

Share this page:

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) has just announced that with effect from 1st January 2015 it is withdrawing the General Preferential Tariff (GPT) for goods originating from the following 72 countries:

Algeria, American Samoa, Antigua and Barbuda, Antilles, Netherlands, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Bermuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, French Polynesia, Gabon, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guam, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Maldives, Mariana Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Namibia, New Caledonia and Dependencies, Oman, Palau, Panama, Peru, Qatar, Russia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Suriname, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Venezuela, and U.S. Virgin Islands.

In practical terms this means that your customers in Canada will no longer benefit from the beneficial tariffs previously available to them for imports from these Favoured Nation (MFA) countries.

So please make sure that you and your customers in Canada are fully aware of the implications of this important change to the Most-Favoured Nation (MFN) tariffs.

NB goods originating from any of the above countries that were shipped before 1st January 2015 but are still in transit at that date will still benefit from the current GPT regulations.

For full details of the CBSA announcement covering these changes, go to

Or else contact Customer Service on 1802233

Previous article


Return to index


Next article