Regulatory News & Information

Withdrawal of the General Preferential Tariff (GPT) from 72 Beneficiary Countries/Territories

Withdrawal of the General Preferential Tariff (GPT) from 72 Beneficiary Countries/Territories

Effective January 1, 2015, entitlement to the General Preferential Tariff (GPT) for goods imported into Canada will be withdrawn from 72 countries/territories (list below). These countries/territories are now deemed ‘higher-income and trade-competitive’ and therefore no longer meet the economic criteria for a developing country/territory.

Please note that duty may then apply to certain commodities which will affect the landed cost of goods imported into Canada from the applicable countries/territories.

List of Countries/Territories

Algeria, American Samoa, Antigua and Barbuda, Antilles, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Bermuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, French Polynesia, Gabon, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guam, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Maldives, Mariana Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Namibia, Netherlands, New Caledonia and Dependencies, Oman, Palau, Panama, Peru, Qatar, Russia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Suriname, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Venezuela, and Virgin Islands, U.S.A.

Least Developed Country/Territory Tariff (LDCT)

Entitlement to the LDCT for two of the countries/territories listed above – Equatorial Guinea and Maldives - will also be removed on January 1, 2015. These countries/territories currently benefit from both preferential tariff treatments.


For detailed information, please refer to the Canada Border Services Agency's Memorandum D11-4-4.